You are here:

About ITC

E-mail Print PDF

In 1977, a committee of the board of directors of the American Association of Community and Junior Colleges (now the American Association of Community Colleges, AACC) created the “Task force on the Uses of Mass Media for Learning." In 1993, the renamed Instructional Technology Council, ITC, became its own separate non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. ITC is an affiliated council of the AACC and represents nearly 400 institutions that offer distance education courses to their students in the United States, Canada and around the world.

Headquartered in Washington, D. C., ITC is staffed by the ITC executive director and ITC membership services coordinator.

ITC is a leader in advancing distance education. ITC's mission is to provide exceptional leadership and professional development in higher education to its network of eLearning practitioners by advocating, collaborating, researching, and sharing exemplary, innovative practices and potential in educational technologies. ITC tracks federal legislation that will affect distance learning, conducts annual professional development meetings, supports research, and provides a forum for members to share expertise and materials.

ITC members include single institutions and multi-campus districts; regional and statewide systems of community, technical and two-year colleges; for-profit organizations; four-year institutions; and, non-profit organizations that are interested or involved in instructional telecommunications.

ITC offers several levels of membership for colleges, universities and non-profit organizations and corporate sponsorship opportunities. The institutional membership rate is $495 per year. Institutional memberships are available to single or district community, technical, or two-year colleges; four-year institutions, or non-profit organizations. A designated contact is the voting representative and distributes the member benefits across his or her institution.

ITC 2013-16 Strategic Planning Document
Created and approved by the ITC board of directors in November 2013.

Download this file (StrategicPlanning2013-16Nov.pdf)StrategicPlanning2013-16Nov.pdf[ITC 2013-16 Strategic Planning Document]124 Kb

The ITC Regions

The ITC is comprised of member institutions in six regions: Northeast, North Central, Southeast, South Central, West, and International.  Members in each region elect a regional representative who serves a two-year term on the ITC Board of Directors. 

  • Northeast Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont
  • North Central Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin
  • Southeast Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
  • South Central Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas
  • West Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
  • International

The ITC Board of Directors

ITC Board members are required to attend three face-to-face meetings. Meetings are held in November and February and in the summer. Board members meet in November in Washington, D.C. after the Association of American Community Colleges’ Council of Affiliated Councils and Commission meetings. The ITC chair attends AACC's Council of Affiliated Councils meeting. The ITC appoints a representative to serve on AACC’s Commission on Research, Technology and Emerging Trends. Board members meet in February before the annual eLearning conference. The ITC Board also meets for three days in the summer in conjunction with the ITC’s annual leadership academy. The location for the summer leadership academy and board meeting varies. Board members also participate in monthly audioconference calls.

The ITC board of directors includes elected officers, six regional representatives, and appointed at large committee chairs.

Past ITC Board Chairs

Roger Yarrington AACC 1977-79
J. Terence Kelly Miami-Dade Community College District 1979-80
Roger Poole Dallas County Community College District 1980-81
Sally Beaty Southern California Consortium 1981-82
Ned Glenn Miami-Dade Community College 1982-83
George Willey Bay Area Consortium 1983-84
Jan Baltzer Maricopa Community College District 1984-85
Rich Gross Kirkwood Community College 1985-86
Ron Brey Austin Community College 1986-87
Jack Pirkey Tarrant County Community College District 1987-88
Bonnie Rogers Saddleback Community College 1988-89
Michael Reddington Open Learning Agency 1989-90
Terry Britton HETA 1990-91
Pamela Quinn Dallas County Community College District 1991-92
Leslie Purdy Coastline Community College District 1992-93
Rich Gross Kirkwood Community College 1993-94
Peggy Falkenstein Sinclair Community College 1994-95
Mickey Slimp Tyler Junior College 1995-96
Lynn Murphy Waubonsee Community College 1996-97
Eleanor Minich Florida Community College at Jacksonville 1997-98
Suzanna Spears Morgan Community College 1998-2000
Michael Catchpole North Island Community College 2000-2002
John Sneed Portland Community College 2002-2004
Ronda Edwards Michigan Community College Virtual Learning Collaborative 2004-2006
Lynda Womer St. Petersburg College 2006-2008
Fred Lokken Truckee Meadows Community College 2008-2010
Jean Runyon   Anne Arundel Community College 2010-2012
Anne Johnson Inver Hills Community College 2012-2014
Loraine Schmitt Portland Community College 2014-Present
See Our List of ITC Membership Benefits
Join ITC Here
Please contact ITC at 202-293-3110 or with any questions!
ITC Website Privacy Policy (PDF)